As of July 1, recreational cannabis is legal to purchase in Nevada for certain adults. Rejoice!
Nevada’s new recreational cannabis sales come with a number of important rules and caveats. Those who live or visit Nevada and wish to enjoy cannabis legally must abide by these rules to avoid fines and, in some instances, jail time. Fines can be expensive. For instance, violating the ban on smoking cannabis in public can result in a ticket of up to $600.
To learn more about the Nevada recreational cannabis purchasing laws or how to buy cannabis legally in Nevada can read on for our quick but comprehensive guide.
No Sales to Anyone Under 21 or Without Valid Government ID
To purchase legal cannabis you must be at least 21 years old, corresponding to the date-of-birth on their government issued ID. Like alcohol or tobacco sales, individuals must present valid ID with every purchase.
The ID you present must be a valid, government-issued photo ID; a driver’s license, state-issued ID card, or passport. Medical cannabis cards from reciprocity states will also be accepted.
Dispensaries expect local law enforcement to perform “sting” operations, and ensure that every employee checks for ID and confirms the date-of-birth and expiration date are valid, don’t expect exceptions to be made that could earn them jail time and fines.
How Much Recreational Cannabis Can I Buy in Nevada?
You are allowed up to an ounce (28.35 grams) of cannabis or 3.5 grams of concentrate, including both oils and semi-solid concentrates per visit to the dispensary.
Individuals may not possess more than an ounce of cannabis at any given time, and may not openly display or use cannabis and cannabis products in public. Either may result in a $600 fine.
Public Consumption in Nevada Is Banned
Consumption of cannabis is permitted only in private residences. Individuals may not consume cannabis in public, businesses or vehicles, which includes hotels and casinos. As mentioned above, violating this policy will result in a $600 fine and a misdemeanor charge.
Gifting Is Permitted, But Sale of Cannabis By Non-Licensed Is Illegal
Individuals may gift up to one ounce of cannabis flowers or 3.5 grams of concentrate to someone 21 and over legally if they receive no compensation in return. Sales or delivery of more than an ounce of cannabis is a felony and can carry a mandatory minimum sentence of one year in jail as well as a $5,000 fine for the first offense and a $10,000 fine for the second offense.
Cultivation/Growing of Cannabis in Nevada
Growing cannabis in Nevada is legal only if you are a state resident and live at least 25 miles from the nearest dispensary. An individual may grow up to six plants, and a single property may grow up to 12 plants. Cultivating cannabis intended for someone else’s use is permitted as long as the plant limit is not exceeded.
The entire quantity harvested from the plant may be kept, and up to an ounce of cured cannabis flowers may be gifted.
Cannabis Cannot Cross State Lines
No matter if you are entering from or leaving a state where cannabis possession is legal, no substances can cross the state line. Violating this rule could invoke federal law, which still considers any amount of possession illegal.
Do Not Smoke and Drive (DUI) in Nevada
Operating a vehicle while under the effects of cannabis is illegal and is considered driving under the influence or DUI. The official limit is 2 nanograms of THC per mL of blood or 5 nanograms per mL of cannabis metabolites, which indicate recent consumption. Police officers may also charge people affected by recent cannabis use “to a degree which renders the driver incapable of safely driving or exercising actual physical control of a vehicle.”
Violation of this law can lead to a three-month (90 day) suspension of your license, fines and possible jail time.
Contact a Las Vegas Dispensary to Learn More About How to Buy Cannabis Legally in Nevada
If you want to know exactly what you need to do to purchase cannabis legally in Nevada — including valid types of ID, business hours, delivery laws and which individuals may not be eligible — you are best off contacting a dispensary in Las Vegas like Euphoria Wellness
While we cannot inform you about the nuances of possession law, cultivation or cannabis DUI, we know first-hand what we need to see in order to complete a legal sale. Call us today at 702-960-7200 for information and free cannabis delivery to a private residence.